Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
welcome Singapour
welcome Singapour
Derniers commentaires
22 octobre 2007

Where to start?

It's been almost 2 weeks that I haven't written anything on my blog. Mostly because I was lazy but also because there were not that much to say..

I'll start by the week-end a week ago. Like I said I had just finished all my midterms exams so my mood what more "going out, enjoy and do nothing" than starting working on my group project (it's never ending, you allways have something to do, I prefer not to think about it).

On Friday we went to Geilang (not sure about the spelling like usual) which is a Malay district in the South of Singapore. We wanted to go there to see the atmosphere in a Muslim district. Friday was the last day before the end of the Ramadan and the least I can say is that it was overcrowded. Shops selling scarfs, muslims clothes, carpets, jewellery, and of course KEBOBS (which were worse than the one you can get in France by the way) were allover the place. It wasn't a huge party but it was still fun, and I discovered that Abdul was really really good at painting with Henna (not on my hands but on the ones of some of his friends).

On Saturday, Hishaam (my roommate) told me he was going at 6pm to the Esplanade to see a belly dancing show because he had a friend at NUS who was dancing. We went there with Morten. The dancers where quite good and was amazed to learn that she (Hishaam's friend) had learnt all these things in belly dancing in about 4 years. By the way, it's really cool to know someone that know someone performing during a show and thus be able to talk to this person at the backstage (if you still follow what I mean..). I'll try to upload a video of the show.

Then, we went to Boat Quay where we met the others (Dorim, Caroline, Fred, Sarah) to go to restaurant. The plan at beginning was to go to the restaurant to celebrate Camilo's birthday (which was the past Monday). Everyone showed up except....Camilo himself.... He told us at the last minute that I wouldn't be able to come because he was staying with a Malay family to celebrate Hari Raya (New year'eve in Malaysia).
Too bad, but at least it didn't spoiled the restaurant. It was nice to be altogether after haven't seen some of us during the past 3weeks (because of the recess week). The food was good and it's definitely something to do again, especially if everytime we continue by a movie and a rugby match in a pub...


IMG_5267

(from left to right: Dorim, Caroline, me, Morten, Hishaam, Fred , and Sarah)

Publicité
Commentaires
welcome Singapour
  • I'm doing an exchange program at the National University of Singapore. Here are all the pictures of my travels to Bali, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam, and also some tips for travelling: monsoon periods, visas.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Publicité