Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
welcome Singapour
welcome Singapour
Derniers commentaires
27 juin 2008

Update after a month of work…

It’s been quite a long time that I haven’t given any news nor written any article on my blog. I guess the big question is: How am I doing?

I would say that I’m ok, my job is getting more interesting day after day, I really enjoy the atmosphere at work and the people there, the place where I stay is decent. I mean I don’t pay that much money (400$ rent) and I get access to all the facilities nearby (that I described in a slideshow in a previous article). My life in Singapore is far from being boring as I still have people to hang with here since some of friends from university are staying over summer and I also have some Singaporean friends.

So what’s wrong with me? Ok I could say that making the questions and the answers could be - and actually - is awkward, but that’s not the point here.

Hmm so what to start first with?

Do I miss France? Yes, I do. More than ever before to be frank. I miss my friends, I miss the f*§$@ good food, I miss my family… I miss speaking French and being surrounded by people speaking French.. Not that I have a problem with Chinese or English speaking people, I guess I simply just want to make the least efforts and be able to spy on people when they talk next to me (what I can’t do when someone right next to me is speaking in Chinese). I guess I understand more now how frustrating it can be to be colour blind…

Anyway, I really think I should stop talking shit here…. My laptop is not a shrink head anyway and I don’t need someone like that..

Let’s simply think that everything is great. I’m in exchange in a great city, in a great country. City that I’ll miss a lot…. I have plenty of friends to hang with, to go partying with, to go clubbing with. Friends that I’ll also miss and that I’ll have trouble to see again. Am I even able to keep in touch with all of them?… I like my internship, it’s interesting, related to what I’ve been studying for years now, it’s challenging. Is it really what I want to do? How would I know? Will I be able to work sitting in a cubicle in front of a computer for the next 40 years? It’s been a month and there is already so much routine work…. I miss my friends in France, friends that I haven’t seen for a more than a year now, and I’ve never been so close to see them again. Many of my friends are going to fly abroad to do an exchange before I even get back, I will have more friends to see and much less time to see them…. I miss my family, my parents, my brothers. Each of us is going to live in different cities – cities very far from each other - and will have his own life…. And I’m listening to the song “Disappearing world” right now…. Depressing….

And yet, I’m sure, or least I’ll do my best, to go over all this. I mean I really don’t want to make up all this list and then say: “look how good I am”. All these doubts are in me and I don’t think they’ll go away like that. I don’t have answers to them anyway. But if there is one thing I know it is how important it is to enjoy as much as I can my exchange. Much of it is over. Many people are already gone. Some are leaving soon.. But it’s not over yet. I left France thinking I had done the toughest part: leaving. Now I start realizing how wrong I was and how right my Dad was to tell me that the “most difficult part is to come back”. And yet, I’m looking forward for it. It is something that I have been experiencing before. My closest friends in Brittany, Paris, Lyon have always been there for me and I’ll be always there for them. In every one of these cities - and I know it will be the same with Singapore – the experiences I had bonded me so closely to these people that I don’t want to lose them.

Going in exchange is certainly a great experience and a great opportunity. I guess it makes people change a lot but I guess it is also one of the best way to know what you want, to look around you and be happy with what you already have.

More than ever before I want to enjoy my time here, my friends, my work, etc. More than ever before I know how important it is to make some efforts to keep in touch with the people I like. So make sure that when you leave you know what you are leaving for and also make sure that you know what you’ll go back for.

Publicité
Commentaires
D
After read blog topic's related post now I feel my research is almost completed. happy to see that.Thanks to share this brilliant matter.
Q
Salut,<br /> <br /> Pas d'inquiétude, les sgueums t'accueilleront à la rentrée avec plaisir, plus que quelques semaines à tenir !! Et quand tu devras faire le tour de tous ceux qui t'ont manqué en France, tu regretteras ta tranquillité singapourienne.<br /> <br /> A +<br /> <br /> Quentin
J
Je crois que j'ai versé ma petite larme en lisant ton post ... assez émouvant lol espèce de gros sentimental ^^<br /> Et ton couZin ne te manque pas ? Nan mais oh on parle des parents et des "brothers" mais pas du cousin ... =)<br /> Eh oui tu l'auras compris je suis en bretagne et je bosse chez toi. Oui je veux arracher des échalotes toute ma vie, j'ai enfin trouvé ma voie ... !<br /> Dommage cependant qu'un gros flemmard de merde ne soit pas là pour faire les rangées qu'on lui a laissées quand il rentrera :)<br /> Sur ce, ne pleure pas trop sur ce commentaire, je suis que je te manque, je sais je sais ... :/ et positive un peu en écoutant du Archive, tu verras, ça marche !<br /> <br /> Aller à la prochaine (peut-être), et comme on dit chez vous : Kenavo !
A
Salut Loïc,<br /> <br /> j'ai bien aimé ce post, il donne un bon aperçu de ce que peut être ton état d'esprit après un an à l'étranger, et au moment de partir il est toujours très intéressant d'avoir le retour d'expérience vécue! <br /> <br /> Bonne continuation en tout cas, et à bientôt ! (j'arrive le 13 juillet)<br /> <br /> Ciao
welcome Singapour
  • I'm doing an exchange program at the National University of Singapore. Here are all the pictures of my travels to Bali, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam, and also some tips for travelling: monsoon periods, visas.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Publicité