Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
welcome Singapour
welcome Singapour
Derniers commentaires
21 février 2008

What am I doing (update before leaving for Philippines)

How to start and most of all how to be concise? I have only a few minutes to write down small clues of  what I've been doing during the past weeks and about what I'll do during at least the next two weeks.

First as it appears clearly I'm busy. I have once again (second Thursday like that) 9 hours classes today. Woke up at 8, went to lab at 9am, finished my lab at 1pm. Got some food, printed out some slides for the upcoming lectures. Attended class for another hour (2pm to 3pm) and now I'm here. Chilling a little bit (printing resumes, watching the match analysis of Lyon-Manchester United on youtube, and now writting this article).

Why am I doing it now?Simply because I don't have time to do apart from now. I've spent the past few weeks sending emails to HR from different companies in order to find a 4 months internship in Singapore this summer. I've talked about it to some of my lecturers. I did some "networking" online using linkedin.com. I've talked to some students from NUS. I've contacted some alumni from my school. I've filled over 20 differents applications online. And of course because each company is different, you have to do it all over again everytime (takes at least 30min to fill one application).

For what results? I had a meeting with prof Yeo Yee Chia from the Silicon Nano Devices Laboratory at NUS. I had an interview with a person from the Institute of Microelectronics of Singapore (member of A star). I'm in contact with Chartered Semiconductor through a lecturer. I'm in contact with ST microelectronics through an alumni of my school. I'm in contact with the French Association of Expatriates in Singapore through a contact given by my grand-father. I'm in contact with someone who's been working for Chartered and is working for Intel through my networking on linkedin. I'm in contact with the Human Ressources department of ASML through a spontaneous application I did online. I'm in contact with someone from AMD through some friend's connection. I'm preparing the career fair held at NUS today and tomorrow where over 15 companies I applied for are coming. And last but not least I received the approval for a working visa in Singapore for up to 6 months (Work Holiday Programme). And I'm still trying to make my network grow bigger and bigger.

Therefore I'm quite confident that I'll get an internship in Singapore this summer.

What else? Er.. studying. I'm currently in my 6th week of class meaning that I've almost reached half the semester (one more week of class). Therefore I tried to catch up in every module what we've done during these 6 weeks. Time files... So far I'm almost good in EE4413, CN4223, ML4104 and PC3241 (just starting to catch up..). I still have MLE3102 to review.. It takes some much time and I don't have it...

I'm flying to Philippines this Saturday for a week (I don't talk about the problems of plannings, trying to know whether or not we're gonna climb a volcano (i need to find climbing shoes by tomorrow..), snorkel with whale sharks and all the related things to think about: get my dive log before leaving, book an internal flight or not? before leaving, or even realize today that a 7.5 earthquake just hit the Philippines..according to some friends..I haven't checked my sources..). And after that I'll have 3 midterm exams in the first week (worth 20% of the final grade), followed by another 2 midterms (I don't when yet). This is scary since I'm still catching up, people from my class will spend their entire recess week working on them while I'll be travelling, and it's still adding up (I realized today I'll a 3rd midterm during that week..). And I also have the deadline for a group project (50% of the final grade) that will come quite fast since it's at the end of March....Rhaa I don't wanna think about all this..

And finally social life... Monday: welcoming Arnaud from INSA Lyon who was in transit to Australia (doing an internship there), took him at the airport and brought him to walla walla. Thuesday, go to a Farewell Party at PGP. Tuesday night (from 00h onwards): talk to a girl from Intel during 2hours and half about everything ranging from internships at Intel to pronounciation in French... Wednesday, see my girlfriend for a few hours. and tonight: small flat party at a friend's place. (and already planning something for Friday night..).

I have to go to class...4 hours straight from 4pm to 8pm on solid state devices... tough and hard to stay focused but I like the subject and the lecturer so it should be ok...

see you.. if I have TIME for it

Publicité
Commentaires
welcome Singapour
  • I'm doing an exchange program at the National University of Singapore. Here are all the pictures of my travels to Bali, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam, and also some tips for travelling: monsoon periods, visas.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Publicité