Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
welcome Singapour
welcome Singapour
Derniers commentaires
21 décembre 2007

Day 2: arriving in Bali...

Ok I've not a lot of time to spend to describe what I did during the last 8 days with my parents in Bali (actually I'm "running out of sleep" because I've to take my bus to Camerom Highlands at 8:30am and it's already 1am..) and yet I'll try to do my best. So "Day 2: arriving in Bali...", this starts at the international aiport at Denpasar: for the second time I had the impression of landing on the sea since the track length is as long as the island width at this geographical point...and then it's always the same routine: filling the immigration and the customs declarations, paying the visa (25USD for a stay > 7 days), withdraw/change some cash and find a cab to the hostel. At this point I discovered that HSBC don't have any atms in entire BALI... and neither any international Bank... bad news.

"Nevermind, I need some cash I'll pay the banking fees" is your only possible reaction..And finally vacations really starts: 35degrees, bright sun, palm trees ("decorated" with some panels proudly saying that Bali welcomes International UN delegates for climate change conference), my parents are discovering Bali for the first time on our way to Seminyak (north of Kuta) and I'm seeing the same things again: motorbikes, cars, palm trees, surfers with their board on motorbikes, cars with surfers..."selamat datang" Bali...

And then checking-in in Kesuma Sari Beach Bungalows: 120 000Rp for double room without breakfast but at least it's in a calm and nice area: south of Kudeta and only 50 m away from the Kuta/Seminyak Beach...and hence it's well located (even though the cleanness of the rooms is regrettable: you can get much better for cheaper I think): the sea is really attracting you and it's nice to leave your luggage in your room and walk 50m to enjoy it (haa finally...): it's so warm, and the beach is huge (a few kilometers from Kuta to Seminyak), and yet no surfers: compare to July it's definitely not the high season in Bali...and that's good for prices :)

P1000364

After walking back to Oberoi through Kudeta (which was empty and yet it's the place to be and where to be seen in Seminyak...) we found some motorbikes for 30 000Rp a day: good thing we found them, we just had time to go to Tanah Lot to watch the sunset. Located a few kilometers (about 10 to 15km) on the north-west of Kuta, it's a temple "on the sea" (it's built on a small "rock-island" a few meters away from the coast) and one of the best place in Bali (according to tourists...) to watch a Bali's sunset: colorful, red, orange, magical...

P1000381

Finally back to Kesuma Sari (at night...) and sleep. End of the first day, end of my article: I NEED SOME SLEEP...

Publicité
Commentaires
welcome Singapour
  • I'm doing an exchange program at the National University of Singapore. Here are all the pictures of my travels to Bali, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam, and also some tips for travelling: monsoon periods, visas.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Publicité